Anchored for Life

by Emma Bannen, Director of PR

Celebrating Founders Day 2018

In 1873, Mary Comfort Leonard, Eva Webb Dodd, and Anna Boyd Ellington came together to form the sisterhood we all know and love. On March 4, collegians, alumnae, advisers, and friends of the Beta Psi chapter joined together to celebrate the 144th anniversary of the founding of Delta Gamma.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Founders Day celebration was held at Northriver Yacht Club. Delta Gammas of all ages came together to remember our founders and celebrate our sisterhood against the backdrop of the yacht club. Beautiful rock ledges, flowers, greenery, and a plethora of anchors made for the perfect venue for this event.

For Hope, For Strength, For Life

Senior collegians joined advisers and alumnae for brunch before the Founders Day ceremony began. Megan Birkes, Beta Psi alumnae class of 2017, spoke at the lunch, encouraging seniors as they transition to the next phase of their Delta Gamma journey.

To start the Founders Day festivities, Debbie Campbell, president of House Corporation, led that annual House Corporation Meeting. We are so excited for the renovations coming to our beautiful home this year!

During the ceremony, we were treated to a speech by guest speaker, Kate Stanton (Alpha Iota: University of Oklahoma), Council Trustee: Fraternity Programming. Kate reminded us of the bond that we share as sisters by walking us through some of the times in her own life that she has shared with her Delta Gamma sisters. She showed us that her sisters stood by her, even in some of her most difficult moments.

We were able to recognize some Beta Psi collegians with awards based on the qualities that Delta Gamma holds dear. Here are the recipients of the 2018 awards:

Anchor Award: Haley Kirkpatrick – presented to the new member who shows the most dedication to her chapter

First Mate Award: Alex Kaldis – presented to the chapter member who displays excellence in her work within her committee

Captain Award: Mady Epplin – presented to the chapter member who shows the most dedication in her position as a director

Mary Comfort Leonard Award: Hannah Pope – presented to the chapter member who best exemplifies the quality of honor

Eva Webb Dodd Award: Katie Slaughter – presented to the chapter member who best exemplifies the quality of loyalty

Anna Boyd Ellington Award: Kelly Fator – presented to the chapter member who best exemplifies the ideals of friendship

Dr. Judy Bonner Award: Caroline Hudson – presented to the chapter member who best exemplifies Delta Gamma

Appie Millsaps Award: Reilly Carr – presented to a leader of Beta Psi who shows hard work and dedication to the chapter day in and day out

Betty Jones Bentley Award: Clara Chuey – given to the sister that always demonstrates the highest ideals of friendship

We then recognized our advisers for all the hard work and dedication they continue to show to the Beta Psi chapter. The ceremony concluded with Delta Gamma rituals.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We are so thankful for a chance to come together and celebrate our bond of sisterhood. Delta Gamma means so much in the lives of each sister. Without the ideals of Eva, Mary, and Anna, none of us would be where we are today. We are stronger and better because of Delta Gamma. Founders Day was an incredible opportunity to reaffirm the bond that Delta Gamma has given us and the impact that Beta Psi has had on us all.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s